Google: Rejected at exec review

Mar 28, 2019 31 Comments

After HC approval, my profile was rejected by exec review stating "found some weaknesses in my interview packet". No specific weakness was informed to me. I don't have an option to improve now since I don't know what those weaknesses are. Did anyone experience like this after interviewing with GPI ORG?

I didn't have any team match before exec review.
Total time: 3+ weeks
YOE: 6

comments

Want to comment? LOG IN or SIGN UP
TOP 31 Comments
  • Microsoft lMQO62
    Not diverse enough. It’s about quotas. You won’t want to believe it, but this is the practice nowadays.
    Mar 28, 2019 4
    • Microsoft lMQO62
      You’re just naive
      Mar 28, 2019
    • Snapchat Gamit
      ^ savage
      Mar 28, 2019
  • First I've ever heard of this happening
    Mar 28, 2019 2
    • Oracle bToN13
      Exact same thing happened to me not too long ago & was already team matched. Frustrating.
      Mar 28, 2019
    • Google otkr63
      Exact same thing happened to me at FB
      Mar 28, 2019
  • Microsoft yiqing
    I had this happen, but in my case I had previously quit Google after accepting an offer (big mistake).
    Mar 28, 2019 0
  • Apple parking
    This is big. Like losing $100k+ just for the one year you need to wait to apply again
    Mar 28, 2019 1
    • Way to rub it in...
      Mar 28, 2019
  • Google / Product _(ツ)_/
    Usually it means the interview scores were mixed, and HC decided to move forward, but Offer review didn't like the feedback. Def try again in 12 months
    Mar 28, 2019 0
  • Netflix nfx
    Had a similar experience 3 years ago. Team selection was done, but got rejected at by SVP when they reviewed my package.
    Mar 28, 2019 1
    • Netflix nfx
      I was at VMware at that time. Applied for Netflix after that. So, no my comp was not high.
      Mar 28, 2019
  • Cadence / Product luna.
    Some redflag.. any google employees to comment?
    Mar 28, 2019 0
  • BlackRock xis
    Giving feedback opens the door for legal issues. So recruiting feedbacks are strictly supposed to be non-informative.
    Don’t try.
    Mar 28, 2019 0
  • Oracle gf3322r
    OP what level??
    Mar 28, 2019 3
    • Cadence / Product luna.
      No HC defines the level... they should be able to tell you the level its not confidential
      Mar 28, 2019
    • Pivotal / R&D aim_google
      OP
      When I asked about this recruiter told me that my level would be disclosed only after exec review. I don't have any concrete info besides this.
      Mar 28, 2019
  • How are your social media profiles? Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter, insta, etc? Anything on there that a search of your profile would find and throw up a red flag?
    Mar 28, 2019 1
    • Pivotal / R&D aim_google
      OP
      I don't know if that counts. Anyways I'm very infrequent user on FB. I retweet mostly tech content. My insta is private. My LinkedIn has lot of info about the talks I delivered.
      Mar 28, 2019

Salary
Comparison

    Real time salary information from verified employees