My wife and I write each other annual reviews. Need advice.

Jun 7, 2018 279 Comments

My wife and I are competing our annual reviews of each other. One of the challenges I’m facing this year is we didn’t agree on OKRs and I have a lot of qualitative feedback but don’t like how the KPIs look. I’m worried her annual review of me will be similar. We both aligned that we’d max out 401ks, move for promotions and end a car lease. But her career moved faster and we don’t have joint accounts so I failed to enter a savings goal. I’m going to suggest she didn’t save enough to see if I can get insight. Also the household itself did well this year we deceased our order in rate by 15% while moving to a good mix of organics and non frozen items +20%.

Anyway for other couples that do this please share advice. Thanks.

comments

Want to comment? LOG IN or SIGN UP
TOP 279 Comments
  • LinkedIn / Eng
    Gill Bates

    LinkedIn Eng

    BIO
    [Insert epic sax here]
    Gill Batesmore
    Sounds like you need to bust out the PIP
    Jun 7, 2018 5
    • Yahoo Sambha
      Hey by any chance did you guy take Ayn Rand too seriously?
      Jun 7, 2018
    • Jet diHu82
      OP
      60 days in abstract requires therapy, separation period and a clear written date of decision.
      Jun 8, 2018
  • Salesforce Tower
    WTF did I just read? Dude, Your marriage is not going to last long. Marriage is about mutual love, trust, respect and sacrifices. It's not about performance reviews, 60 day periods.
    Jun 7, 2018 12
    • Amazon twsc32
      Actually, I like this conceptually. Very much like the Love Tank check in idea from the Five Love Languages book.

      Hardest part with any goal setting is creating the measurement and reporting mechanisms, and the fact that you know you have increased your organic food consumption by X% simply floors me. But good for you.
      Jun 8, 2018
    • Cruise Automation / Eng ✉️
      Pretty sure the reason behind divorces is something like getting married too quickly or giving up instead of committing to work it out.
      Jun 8, 2018
  • Compass / Eng
    FUPayMe

    Compass Eng

    PRE
    Google
    FUPayMemore
    I love this idea.
    Jun 7, 2018 4
    • Reddit / Ops Hdusj644
      How are the post-sex post-mortems?
      Jun 7, 2018
    • Lyric / Mgmt duecez
      😂🤣😂
      Jun 7, 2018
  • Tesla <hidden>
    TC or GFTO
    Jun 7, 2018 17
    • Oath / Other Trollololl
      OP breastfeeding weight gain/loss varies from person to person. Some women gain weight while breastfeeding and lose it once done, for others breastfeeding helps lose the weight
      Jun 7, 2018
    • Lyric / Mgmt duecez
      nothing better than a bunch of dudes commenting on breastfeeding IMO 😂
      Jun 7, 2018
  • Salesforce Tower
    I think she's already hiring for a backend engineer
    Jun 7, 2018 1
    • Uber Harder
      Hahaha. Just front-end doesn't work any more :))) Yo, OP, you'd better add another OKR - become a full stack expert.
      Jun 7, 2018
  • Microsoft GjfG3n
    My wife put me on PIP, should I start searching?
    Jun 7, 2018 2
    • Google LAaz36
      Start leetcode practice first. Then go to a onsite interview.
      Jun 8, 2018
    • Inside interview
      Jun 8, 2018
  • Salesforce HarcEndoff
    Yo is this for real?? 😳 I’m all for written goals
    In a marriage and stuff, but annual perf reviews HOLY CRAP 🤕
    Jun 7, 2018 4
  • New ICVo74
    Have you thought about bringing in an outside consultant?
    Jun 7, 2018 1
  • iCrossing / Other ffnu
    I think you guys may need to hire someone else and grow the team.
    Jun 7, 2018 0
  • Microsoft SapSucker
    So a visit with the in-laws is like a skip level 1:1?
    Jun 7, 2018 0

Salary
Comparison

    Real time salary information from verified employees