Offer received but glassdoor reviews are garbage

New / Mktg redskies
Jul 27, 2018 15 Comments

I received an offer from a fintech startup that is pretty well-funded as a backend software engineer, and i didn’t think much about culture because people i interviewed with seemed very friendly and nice.

I read through glassdoor reviews and all the positive ones sound fake, and all the negative stars call it out. They say the startup is doomed for failure because the product isn’t scalable and under the hype they’re all actually manually testing like robots.

What should I do? Offer expires in a few days, and I hate my current company.

comments

Want to comment? LOG IN or SIGN UP
TOP 15 Comments
  • New / Mktg
    Mojoman

    New Mktg

    PRE
    Informatica
    BIO
    Product Marketer who thinks there’s no future for product marketing.
    Mojomanmore
    Don’t do what Cox automotive says. Start ups with crappy reputations like this are not necessarily looking for people to solve problems, but someone to use as a scapegoat. Because they know that their problems will never be solved, now it’s just a matter of extending themselves on life-support. What you should do is get a linked in premium subscription, find out former employees that worked at the company, including perhaps your predecessor, and then contact them for a confidential back channel reference check. In your situation though, it might not matter, since you hate your current company. So perhaps you move onto this new company, don’t update your LinkedIn profile for the first three months, but keep on looking elsewhere. Once three months pass by, you’re basically stuck there until the nine-month period. Then at the nine month period, put your resume out again so that by the time you jump ship to somewhere that’s better, you will have probably stayed there for a year and a half while also hopefully jumping ship to somewhere that’s better. It’s all a matter of timing, just like product management. Create a roadmap for your life.
    Jul 27, 2018 0
  • New
    fjTN53

    New

    BIO
    Looking for engineering leadership role
    fjTN53more
    So? Go there and fix shit. Automate their tests. Companies hire because they have problems and are looking for folks to solve it
    Jul 27, 2018 3
    • New
      fjTN53

      New

      BIO
      Looking for engineering leadership role
      fjTN53more
      Well if they are lying and selling snake oil then run
      Jul 27, 2018
    • New / Mktg redskies
      OP
      I won’t know that until i get there though!!
      Jul 27, 2018
  • Microsoft WoCE36
    Remember Glassdoor reviews are skewed toward negative opinions, because happy employees don’t need to complain there and it’s not compelling to write a positive review either.

    So don’t buy Glassdoor shit
    Jul 27, 2018 3
    • New / Eng KingBoo
      Maybe they are all written by the same person?
      Jul 27, 2018
    • Google sams235
      I disagree, you should take both negative and positive reviews when picking a job. What makes you think the positive reviews aren’t being written by HR/someone fake to coerce you to come join them?

      The negative reviews for a startup I joined turned out to be true for the most part. I quit in a couple of months.
      Jul 27, 2018
  • Airbnb Airb&b
    You can trust Glassdoor reviews. I think there are diverse. You can always filter based on roles and dates and have better insights. Anytime I did not keep reviews on Glassdoor seriously I regretted that!
    Jul 27, 2018 0
  • Avegant / Eng
    Cryptozoid

    Avegant Eng

    PRE
    Qualcomm, Nokia, Apple, Avegant
    BIO
    Hardware Tinkerer, Software Engineer, Musician, Painter, Moving Helper
    Cryptozoidmore
    fintech is so 2015 bruh
    Jul 27, 2018 1
    • Bloomberg / Eng bbwtf
      what’s 2018? crypto robot tech?
      Jul 27, 2018
  • Salesforce lsSn48
    Startup go through different phases. At the beginning, it’s all about building the product, testing does not matter. Then ease of deployment is more important. Then stability. Then scheduled releases. Etc. Transitions are never smooth. Startup may be at one of these transition point.
    Jul 27, 2018 0
  • Cox Automotive PatM
    You can ALWAYS ask followup questions. Adk the hiring manager about the Glassdoor reviews directly. Ask him to talk to people who could respond in detail about them directly.
    Jul 27, 2018 0
  • New / Eng
    ECaD58

    New Eng

    PRE
    Amazon
    ECaD58more
    Startups are usually broken in different ways. Testablility of a product is by no means any indicator of business. People pay for the product utility and if there are customers that is best indicator. All other things are noise. Before joining see if you can meet and talk to actual devs. You shouldnt think you can go and change everything. You would have to learn zen amidst chaos if it comes to. Could be a learning experience, who knows.
    Jul 27, 2018 0

Salary
Comparison

    Real time salary information from verified employees