"Strong-willed" Performance Review

Shell UA83
Nov 6, 2019 10 Comments

Has anyone received a performance review describing you as "strong-willed?" If so, was it considered positive or negative?

comments

Want to comment? LOG IN or SIGN UP
TOP 10 Comments
  • Microsoft 3 Talking
    Omg, I didn’t even read that this was posted in “women in tech” and my first instinct was, you got this feedback because you’re a woman. I wish I had great advice for you, but this is the bullshit we deal with...
    Nov 6, 2019 3
    • Lyft / Eng 1👌1
      @infosys it's well documented that women get more negative feedback for being aggressive in speaking out for themselves at work, while for men this is more often viewed positively.
      Nov 6, 2019
    • Google / Eng jzz8
      I have never heard of a man being described as strong willed as it implies that your will is expected to be more temperate. I would expect to hear descriptions such as overly ambitious, strongly opinionated, hard headed.
      Nov 6, 2019
  • Amazon Dr. Jones
    “The nail that sticks out gets hammered down.”
    Nov 6, 2019 1
    • Google SundarPich
      "The squeaky wheel gets the grease"
      Nov 6, 2019
  • Microsoft / Product Izxv26
    I would ask for specific examples so you can evaluate whether this is valuable feedback and something you need to consider or if it's a bias. Remember feedback is always a reflection of the provider. What does it tell you about them? Read Tara Mohr Playing Big. She has a whole chapter on feedback that I found very helpful.
    Nov 6, 2019 1
    • Shell UA83
      OP
      Thanks! I will check it out!
      Nov 6, 2019
  • Square / Eng FitbitHype
    It should say in your review of it's good or bad.

    It sounds like it would be more negative than positive. Positive would be determined. Strong-willed implies overly determined and hard to change your mind once it's made up, which is not necessarily a good thing.
    Nov 6, 2019 0
  • Airbnb 7hgtyikjh
    Women are told that they are victims and society won’t listen to them so some of them overcompensate by being bullies. (By the same token men are pussies). Do more listening and understanding instead of just pushing your own agenda.
    Nov 6, 2019 0

Salary
Comparison

    Real time salary information from verified employees